Asia Rainey

I Am Not My Hair

Then & Now…Changes

So, yeah. I actually had relaxers once. I grew up (literally) in my grandmother’s beauty salon. She didn’t do relaxers, but she did a LOT of coloring, straightening, press & curls…I loved my Shirley Temple curls. Easter Sunday, I was fly.

I never disliked my natural hair. I was constantly told in various settings (school, work, etc) that natural hair (and let’s be real, we’re talking about NAPPY hair,) just wasn’t going to be popular, or this man liked it less than my long straight tresses, or this job really liked to promote a corporate code of dress. I started to get sick of it around 2003, and I think I needed to get away from my marriage at the time to feel completely good about the transition. The black and white pic above is shortly after I’d finally finished gradually cutting the relaxer out. Talk about…

View original post 412 more words

